What are the penalties for a fourth DUI charge in Maryland?

If you are convicted of a fourth DUI in Maryland, penalties may include fines and imprisonment. However, when you are pulled over, you can refuse to take the Breathalyzer test, but understand that this is a criminal violation and consequently you will be presumed intoxicated.

You could also face tougher penalties when refusing a Breathalyzer test. To protect your rights, you should meet with an Annapolis drunk driving lawyer soon after you have been charged.

Penalties for a Fourth DUI in Maryland

Possible penalties for a fourth offense include the following:

  • DUI – $3,000 maximum fine and/or 3 years maximum imprisonment;
  • DUI per se – $3,000 maximum fine and/or 3 years maximum imprisonment;
  • DUI with a minor in your vehicle – $4,000 maximum fine and/or 4 years maximum imprisonment; and
  • Driving after you are arrested for a DUI violation – $500 maximum fine and/or 2 months maximum imprisonment.

If this is your fourth DWI, the penalties will be less harsh because with a DWI the parameter for the blood alcohol content is less than it is for a DUI. Possible penalties included for a DWI are a $500 maximum fine and/or 1 year maximum imprisonment. If you get a DWI with a minor in your vehicle that is a $2,000 maximum fine and/or 1 year maximum imprisonment.

The penalties for a DUI or DWI can significantly impact your life, which could destroy your plans for the future. With the help of an Annapolis drunk driving lawyer, you may be able to minimize the penalties for your fourth DUI in Maryland.

Contact an Annapolis Drunk Driving Lawyer

When you don’t take action to protect your rights after a fourth DUI Maryland, you can lose them. The Annapolis drunk driving lawyer team from Jimeno & Gray, P.A., includes former Assistant State’s Attorneys who thoroughly understand and can harness the inner workings of the Maryland criminal justice system. We have a free eBook available for your reference, The ABCs of DWIs in Maryland. To best protect your rights in the face of a serious criminal charge, contact us today for a consultation – 410-590-9401.

If you have been charged with a DWI or DUI, you should download a FREE copy of our book, The ABCs Of DWIs In Maryland before talking to a lawyer. Our experienced DWI defense attorneys serve the following areas in Maryland:

Posted in: DUI/DWI