Facing Second DUI in Maryland | Glen Burnie Defense Team
Facing a Second DUI in Maryland? Seek Glen Burnie DUI Defense (Part B)
Penalties of a Second DUI in Maryland
The first thing you need to consider with a second DUI in Maryland is how soon it occurs after your first DUI conviction. If your second charges are brought up within 5 years of your first conviction, you’ll face misdemeanor charges.
Your driver’s license could be suspended for a minimum of 90 days for a second DUI and up to 180 days if your BAC was .15 or greater. You may be eligible for a hardship license, but this may require that you install an ignition interlock device first.
There are 2 more steps to take for license reinstatement or hardship license that your Glen Burnie DUI defense team can explain. The first is taking an alcohol education program approved by the Maryland court. You’ll also need to obtain SR22 insurance on your auto policy and maintain the coverage for 3 years after your conviction.
Fines are also a part of the penalties for a second DUI in Maryland. For a DWI you can be assessed fines up to $500, while a DUI can go up to $2,000. Having a minor present in the car increases these maximums to $2,000 and $3,000, respectively.
Negotiating Penalties with Help from Glen Burnie DUI Defense Team
These penalties for a second DUI aren’t set in stone. In some cases, your Glen Burnie DUI defense team can attempt to negotiate lower penalties. Some judges may allow for less jail time in lieu of increased fines, or vice-versa. Requesting community service instead of some of the penalties also can be an option for some cases.
There’s no guarantee that you can reduce or modify the penalties you face for a second DUI in Maryland because the judge in your case determines them. However, by working with a Glen Burnie DUI defense team, you can become informed of potential options and have help in going about requesting these modifications.
The Benefits of a Glen Burnie DUI Defense Team
When you don’t take action to protect your rights after a second DUI in Maryland, you can lose them. The DUI lawyer team from Jimeno & Gray, P.A., includes former Assistant State’s Attorneys who thoroughly understand and can harness the inner workings of the Maryland criminal justice system. To best protect your rights in the face of a serious criminal charge, contact us today for a consultation – (410) 590-9401.
If you have been charged with a DWI or DUI, you should download a FREE copy of our book, The ABCs Of DWIs In Maryland before talking to a lawyer. Our experienced DWI defense attorneys serve the following areas in Maryland:
Anne Arundel County, Glen Burnie, Pasadena, Severna Park, Arnold, Millersville, Annapolis, South Gate, Howard County, Ellicott City, Baltimore City, Baltimore County, Prince George’s County, Odenton, Crofton, Towson, Brooklyn Park, Essex, Dundalk, Riviera Beach, Green Haven, Bowie, Greenbelt, College Park, Beltsville, Severn, Jessup, Upper Marlboro, Olney, Columbia, Linthicum Heights, Elkridge, Arbutus, and Pikesville.